Skip to content

Golf Swing VS Baseball Swing

November 18, 2011

Friends,

The transition in the golf swing is arguably one of the most important areas of the swing and one of the most challenging for golfers to master.  In order to make this part of the swing easier to understand, I have created this video.

Enjoy.

Please post comments below and for more instructional info follow me on twitter @andrewmarrgolf

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2011 5:17 PM

    Andrew,

    I’ve used a very similar idea as well talking about the having the right shoulder go down and toward the ball. Has certainly helped many.

    Glad to hear it has given your students success as well.

    See you soon.

    JG

  2. bob Pearce permalink
    December 8, 2011 3:53 AM

    I have tried many variations as a novice golfer but I have found the best swing for myself is the “Baseball Swing”. Yes, I have played baseball for many of my growing up years and now as a senior trying golf. I have found this game extremely difficult but also very facinating. There is so much to learn and I must say that you must practice as often as you can.
    I started my drives with the normal driver club and was not happy with the TERRIBLE “SLICE” that haunted me. I took professional instructions which did certainly help and I read as many articles as i can find on hitting.
    I switched to a 3 wood which is much more forgiving then a typical driver.
    My grip now shows (3) knuckles on my left hand held over the club-thumb on side of shaft
    My right hand V (thumb – forfinger) points up to my right shoulder with palm facing straight up
    I use a 10 finger grip and address the face of the ball as I use to do with my basball bat over the plate-not to close to the plate nor to far away-just covering the strike zone and making sure the sweet spot of my bat catches the ball.
    My swing has my left arm straight across my chest and I keep my head still addressing the ball with a good power swing.
    Results I have now achieved a 170 yard hit straight over the pitchers mound heading for center left field as in my baseball hit but now becomes my Golf Swing. What a beautiful sight to see that beautiful white ball sailing straight through the air.

    Bob

Leave a Reply

