Skip to content

Introducing Andrew Marr Golf Instruction

September 30, 2011

Friends, Coaches, Instructors, Golf Enthusiasts

After making the big move from Philadelphia to San Diego to teach the game I grew up with, I decided to entertain the notion of establishing a blog.  Well today is the day I officially unveil my golf instruction blog and life thoughts to the world.  My personality is a combination of fun, intense motivation and extreme competitiveness so I hope to bring those traits to this as frequently as possible.

Growing up in Troon, Scotland gave me the opportunity to play some of the world’s best golf courses almost every week.  Scotland, and Troon in particular, did not offer kids in those days summer camps or retreats so golf was a huge draw for us young lads (and lassies) as greens fees were fairly inexpensive. As a better player in my club (Troon St. Meddans), I had the opportunity to play with older, more experienced players and it certainly made me grow up quickly in order to be accepted.  I owe Scotland and my family a huge debt of gratitude for introducing me to the game which has become my career and life.

Troon Lochgreen

The main theme of my blog will be golf instruction and coaching in its purist form; my hope is to give my readers the chance to  share information that will help them play better golf. Every day, discoveries and breakthroughs with my clients keep my adrenaline flowing so I will be including success stories and those of a more challenging nature. I do also want to be sure to connect the love of my game with other passions in my life such as people, micro brews, food and travel, Scottish soccer, The Philadelphia Phillies and The Philadelphia Eagles.

I also want to invite other coaches and instructors to be leave comments as often as possible as I will never pretend I have all the answers and always embrace new ideas or points of view.

Please feel free to friend request me on Facebook and/or follow my twitter handle @andrewmarrgolf

Let the learning begin……………………………………………..

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 10:01 AM

    Great start.

    Looking forward to learning from you.

    JG

  2. Michael Weismantel permalink
    October 5, 2011 8:07 AM

    Bring it Coach!

  3. October 6, 2011 9:36 PM

    Very cool, Andrew! I look forward to some stimulating discussions!

  4. Mark Cherry permalink
    October 7, 2011 1:53 AM

    I like learning from a golf instructor with questionable taste in baseball teams…

    • October 7, 2011 7:51 PM

      Mark – thank you for the post.

      If we don’t win tonight the team will be viewed as very questionable……………:)

  5. David permalink
    October 7, 2011 8:46 PM

    I will attest for what the combination of a great instructor (Andrew) and the right tools (Golftech) can do for a swing. Andrew is fun to work with which makes learning that much easier.

  6. navyswimmer permalink
    October 8, 2011 4:06 AM

    Andrew!! Its Chris McNulty. I like the blog and will be following. Enjoying everything out here in Guam. Took third in a tourney yesterday. Hope all is well.

    • October 9, 2011 3:00 AM

      Hello mate,

      How is Guam? 3rd in the tournament…………….great stuff?

      Are you getting to play much?

      Hope all is well with you mate

      • navyswimmer permalink
        October 9, 2011 6:09 AM

        Yea only been here 4 days so not too bad. Thanks again for everything u have done. I plan on sending u some awesome pictures of the courses here. U will be amazed!! Do u have Facebook?

    • October 13, 2011 9:36 AM

      yes on facebook mate

  7. CW Golfs permalink
    October 10, 2011 10:43 PM

    Have you shaved your ‘playoff beard’ now that the Phillies are on vacation? See ya tomorrow for my practice session…

  8. Lance Ebeling permalink
    October 13, 2011 9:27 PM

    great intro

Leave a comment